The Bane of Being “Jobless”

I’m having some problems with being jobless. Yes, I actually feel troubled without a job.

I’d like to define a job as a regular 9 to 5 work for a company that isn’t yours, where you do work in a place away from home. This is really the definition of what a “job” is by the people around me, based on what they say.

Not having a job doesn’t mean I have no work to do. Writing books, working on new projects and my freelance engagements are work.

The nature of my work means I don’t get paid regularly. Clients take forever and some efforts pay off later than sooner.

What do I really do? Well, I’m a ghost writer and a freelance copywriter since last year. I left a mid-level position to get away from ridiculous office environment with its politics, to get away from the peak hour mad rush, to get away living from paycheck to paycheck.

But that’s not the problem.

The problems of not having a job:
– People think I’m lazy. That’s not really a problem, but it actually gets to me sometimes when your in-laws ask you “why don’t you get a job?”.
– The irregular payments affect cash flow. I’m not complaining about the amount, but the timing of their arrival. Some clients are fast, other take months for the other half.
– Sometimes I feel discouraged. This happens whenever you work solo.

It’s a good thing I have a supportive wife, but support can only go so far. There are bills and rent to pay for. The worst part about all this is that we’re moving (again) and though it’s inevitable, it is the stress of moving that’s adding on to this whole pressure cooker.

I have to say the nature of writing as work may seem easy, but it’s not. I really demand more from myself than what clients demand from me because if they look good, I feel good. And that’s the most important part of the job.

So today, in this blogpost, I have identified the problems. Later on, I’ll work to solve them. Tomorrow, I will list down all the solutions.

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “The Bane of Being “Jobless”

  1. I can totally relate. I left my job a year ago to explore options and I’ve only gotten as far as this blog. I have some opportunities on the horizon, but for now I’m trying to focus on some writing. Good luck with the move.

  2. Hang in there, buddy. There are many other options to help with the cashflow. One is teaching part-time / full-time / on contract. Teaching’s never an easy option. For every class that I taught here, there is independent preparation and grading. Have you ever checked out http://www.mandy.com for creative work?

  3. Am “in-between” jobs myself, and hope to find myself living away from what I call an island of concrete. I would love to write more, but am getting used to being vulnerable, beginning with myself. Being vulnerable to my own self. That’s a start, innit?

Leave a Reply

